Music Monday :: my thoughts on Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

5 Jun

“The Prologue.” Shakespeare. Ughhh yes, I’m not even a Romeo and Juliet girl but yes. Also there was a bit of strings that sounded like the opening note of “Mama Who Bore Me” which got straight to me yes it did. Coming over in chills already A+.

“100 Letters.” This is the kind of song that sounds… transitory to me. That’s not a bad thing, it’s just a thing, I think it’s the pace of the backing. “I can’t stop thinking that, I can’t stop thinking that I almost gave you everything.”

“Eyes Closed.” This is raw. That’s beautiful. I’m shivering a little. Bless Halsey and her concept albums that are actually still things you can pull apart.

“Heaven In Hiding.” Also I’m going to put this right here because… Halsey, you’re everything. “The story centers on a pair of lovers in a limbo-like realm that connects to the futuristic setting of the previous album: “I was a big comic-book kid… a big Marvel nerd”, she stated.” Quoth Wikipedia, but like…. you know exactly what you’re doing don’t you honey? I’m glad. We need that. She keeps doing this thing with her voice, this escalation, and it’s delicious.

“Alone.” Oh some vintage radio noise that’s good. There is definitely an emotional disconnect/connect in her stuff that’s, I don’t know if this is on purpose but, it’s very reflective to me of… well, Marvel heroines. Being surrounded and given attention to, not wanting or feeling it deserved or even pushing folks away – “I, I know you wanna slip under my armor” and “baby, as soon as you meet me you’ll wish that you never did” an stuff.  It’s interesting.

“Now Or Never.” It’s interesting, I don’t dislike this by any means but I also don’t necessarily see it as what should have been the first single? But then, I know that my tastes in alt-pop tend to the more dark and theatrical?

“Sorry.” This one is pretty traditional piano ballad. This album overall is a little softer than the last, I think.

“Good Mourning.” Speaking of dark and theatrical! This is… much more “concept.”

“Lie.” “‘Cause I’m tryna’ give the impression that I get the message you wish I was dead.” Goddamn. The things she’s doing with her voice on the sustained “liiie” parts are killer.

“Walls Could Talk.” Oh god and there’s strings and all of these little dark things that are tracing through and it’s electric.

“Bad At Love.” This is hip-hoppy and also explicitly bisexual and that’s nice.

“Don’t Play.” This is reminiscent of a lot of musical traditions I’m peripherally aware of but less familiar with but she can work the attitude.

“Strangers.” The big queer one! Drift partner has already spoiled this for me in the context of a tragic non-canon f/f MCU ship and yes totally this. Girls. Lauren Jauregui, of Fifth Harmony, who is the duet partner here, is also a queer woman and this is addictively queer and delicious.

“Angel On Fire.” Holy shit. “I’m standin’ in the ashes of who I used to be, and I’m faded away, you know, I used to be on fire.” This is poignant.

“Devil In Me.” Well this… is similarly tragic. I’m going to linger here.

“Hopeless.” There are shreds of the 90s in this, I feel like? No wait “Hide and Seek” there are shreds of “Hide and Seek” all over this, though it’s not the same song by any means. It’s the synth though, that’s very.

 

Leave a Reply

