Music Monday :: my thoughts on I’m Only Dreaming

20 Feb

My beloved Eisley has returned. Sans Stacy, sans Chauntelle, but plus a couple new kids and with extra Sherri for good measure! Perfection to follow, I’m sure.

“Always Wrong.” I keep just pausing to shut my eyes and sink into this. I know I’m going to need to do that for real next chance I have, but. This is eerie and beautiful and here are some words.

“Defeatist.” Incidentally, new girl Elle Puckett is also of Poema, who I found on Spotify recently and that was nice. “I’ll bite the bullet, I’ll fall right through you.” I am so “down in the trenches, holding your hand tight” everything they touch turns gold I swear. This is not happy but it still sounds so happy I’m so in awe? This is such an important song and I want to wrap myself in it.

“A Song for the Birds.” “When you found me in that dungeon bright but tired of the punches, oh that sweetheart, you were always mine, oh mine” aughhh. Hello Max! He and Sherri work because he is a werewolf who married a fairy and while their aesthetics don’t match it complements in an odd way. I just adore everything that’s going on right now. It’s mystical and fantasy but it’s very very modern too, but in a way that doesn’t sound like anything else has, really.

“Sparking.” There is always just so much close attention paid to these guys’ songs, I feel? They are crafted with care. I appreciate it deeply. It’s like, the imagery is just whimsical enough that it’s set apart.

“My Best Friend.” I like the new harmonies vibe! Also, I am really going to need the story behind these lyrics because I 100% know they are not what my instinct said they are. More than 100% know. It’s really sweet, though, no matter what.

“Rabbit Hole.” Okay, gone a bit acoustic, soft and sweet and just a bit melancholy. I feel like they just choose words in a way that’s not like a lot of musicians. I mean. “Coppice.” I have never heard that in a song before. It’s coming up with a red squiggle line but it’s a word, Google just verified this for me because I had to check. Yet there it is. Effortlessly included.

“Louder Than a Lion.” Oh. A bit of noise threaded in. I’ve heard this started as a lullaby for Sherri’s little girl(s?) and that makes sense to me. I feel uncomfortably invested in the extended DuPree family thanks to Instagram, so. This is whimsy. Those girls are whimsy. This band is whimsy. Here, more lyrics. It’s gorgeous.

“You Are Mine.” This is so dreamy. “You’re my everything, my sun and moon, you make me swoon. Wake me up, talk too much, piss me off, but you are mine.” That’s a good sentiment. Eisley has not, by and large, been prone to explicitly romantic songs (I’m sure that’s a large part of why I like them) but this is nice. Not jarring, just sweet. Also, a menagerie of demons. So.

“When You Fall.” Well, this one is obviously for the Bemis babies, Lucy and Coraline, who are so cute that their internet photos charm even me, who has no affinity whatsoever toward children. But also this is just really… magic.

“Snowfall.” Ah yes, we approach our entries into the classic tradition of Eisley songs that could vaguely be about Game of Thrones. (None will ever beat “The Night Comes,” but…) I mean, this one is… not particularly, but it’s got that winter imagery that’s enough for some people, and oh my god it just kicked from the slow sweet melancholy to something with so much rocking and soul and body. And now I’m trying to figure out what the Hebrew equivalent to “Sherri” would be, since she said that.

“Brightest Fire.” Part two. Because fire imagery also goes to that. And also I just like it. It’s pretty. There’s enchanting and champions and shit and it’s lovely.

–your fangirl heroine.

you20dont20say

Leave a Reply

