Superlative Sunday :: the 2017 SAG Awards and how I feel about them

29 Jan

Hidden Figures (Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture)
Get it, girls. (I mean, there were men in this movie, but they were there either to support the girls or hinder the girls, or hinder and then support the girls, while the girls, which is to say Octavia Spencer, Taraji P. Henson, and Janelle Monae, did the lion’s share.) I am so proud of this movie. I am so glad that this movie has had the success it has had, especially now of all times, and I am so glad that this movie is in the mainstream, because it’s terribly important and also wonderfully made.

Stranger Things (Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series)
Yeah, I’m okay with this! While I wouldn’t have been upset about Game of Thrones winning this year, they probably don’t need to because they’ve won before and they always seem to win when it’s at its worst because critics are dark and hate women being happy. Or something. But this makes more sense to me if just for use of the word “ensemble”: while everyone in Game of Thrones continues to give good performances as individuals, it’s still a lot of little stories with one or two people working together that sometimes intersect. Stranger Things was a few different groups of characters closely interrelated working together to achieve one goal, ergo they did more things together, as an ensemble. And that was really the beauty of it. The kids are all fun, of course, but they work wonderfully together. The adults balance each other. The teenage boys… well, they exist while Nancy is sweet and sad. It’s more of an ensemble piece.

Game of Thrones (Outstanding Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Television Series)
Sure. I still haven’t seen Daredevil season 2 (I have heard enough to be willfully procrastinating, even though I’m hungry for Elektra) but it would have kicked major ass to see Luke Cage win anything here; that said, this is fine. I’m fine with this.

And A+++ good job to Denzel Washington, Mahershala Ali, and Viola Davis, whose things I have not watched yet! Also good job to Sarah Paulson, whose thing I will never watch.

–your fangirl heroine.

step20on20back20bigots

Leave a Reply

