Music Monday :: 2016 in music, part 1 (11 songs of the year)

26 Dec

11. “Mustang Kids,” Zella Day
So this is from last year, but I discovered it this year and this particular video came out this year so it sort of counts. Her whole vibe is very trancey and odd and I can’t tell, there might be Sapphic chicks in this music video. Maybe. Good enough for me.

10. “Milk and Cookies,” Melanie Martinez
This album also came out last year but the music video is really recent and it’s been in my heaviest rotation this year. I’ve spent weeks just driving around wailing along to this like an emo teenager, it’s great. I love the entire album (more on that next week) but I special-pick this song because it is explicitly about tweeishly murdering a sexual predator with cookies and the music video made that even more explicit.

9. “Supermoon,” Case Lang Veirs
Grindhouse Gothic perfection, of which there was plenty this year but this is exemplary.

8. “Holy,” Zolita
YouTube has started recommending me random pop music videos that are about Sapphic girls, and this one came up. It’s interesting, because it’s a good song but I don’t know if the song would have stuck with me as much as it has if it wasn’t such a gay video, but it’s the gayest video. There’s a lesbian cult at what seems to be a private school prelude to The Handmaid’s Tale.

7. “And Then You Die,” Adia Victoria
The vibe on this entire album is so intense. It’s worth many, many listens.

6. “Hatefuck,” Cruel Youth
Teddy Sinclair, once Natalia Kills, helms this project, and it’s glorious. It’s like a dirtier angrier version of the 1960s girl group songs I grew up hearing on the radio.

5. “Daughters,” Lissie
Because everyone needs a Wild West feminist ballad in their lives sometimes.

4. “Gone Insane,” Lucius
As I observed, this is a harmonious ballad about gaslighting and it’s brilliant. The music video is a little body-horror, though, so be careful friends.

3. “Sweet Dreams,” Joseph
I have basically been playing this album every time I’m not playing Cry-Baby in my car, and it’s brilliant and wonderful, but this track stands out as the most epic and glorious.

2. “Gravel to Tempo,” Hayley Kiyoko
Because lesbians. It’s a great song, but let’s be real, it’s important as it is because lesbians.

1. “Dying to Know,” Tegan and Sara
For you, love.

–your fangirl heroine.

not20saying20it

Leave a Reply

