Spoiler Alert Saturday :: my thoughts on Ghostbusters

30 Jul

Why is it that when I genuinely love movies my first reaction is a sheepish “oh, everyone else has already said everything wonderful”? I’m not sure. I feel like everyone has already said all of the great things about Ghostbusters. I feel like my list is going to pale in comparison. Maybe it’s because I hold the fandom in decent regard? I’m not sure.

Suffice to say, this movie made me smile.

If you all remember, I had not the best reaction to Bridesmaids, not because it isn’t funny (I have seen it several times since and can agree that it is funny) but because the marketing set me up for a comedy about female friendship, not about female friends being drama. I had a good feeling that Ghostbusters would not be this, and I am not disappointed.

Sure, there was a conflict in the very beginning between Erin (Kristin Wiig) and Abby (Melissa McCarthy) over their old ghost-related science book. Erin wants to be a legitimate professor and get tenure, and the implication is that sometime in between the book’s publication and the movie’s opening she abandoned her more fanciful notions in order to pursue this legitimacy. Abby, meanwhile, has continued to pursue the paranormal, somehow acquiring a Holtzmann (Kate McKinnon) along the way. They have some initial drama.

And then they realize they’re in the right and ghosts exist, and the conflict is solved. They’re working together. They’re renewing their friendship. They’re supporting each other. They’re supporting Holtzmann. They’re meeting and supporting their new friend Patty (Leslie Jones). They support their new pal Kevin (Chris Hemsworth) even though he’s not exactly a clever sort of fellow. They make plans, they value each other’s strengths, they work together. They don’t give up.

And the villain of the piece is… an angry white man whose ideals are basically just that the world is horrible because it wasn’t as nice to him as it could have been. “You don’t know my pain,” he essentially shouts at them, to which they, marginalized all, reply, “Uh, yes, we do.”

Also! Kate McKinnon, quite the lesbian, was playing her character very very gay, and Paul Feig has confirmed this but said the studio forbade it from being explicit canon. And everyone else in this movie? Well, the best stories about intense female friendship can also read rather ladygay. This is no exception. Everyone was in love.

It’s just really important, you guys.

–your fangirl heroine.

seriously20no

 

Leave a Reply

