Spoiler Alert Sunday :: my thoughts on Deadpool

6 Mar

I’m late to the party.  Whatever.

I’ve never read a single Deadpool comic, but thanks to fandom osmosis I’m vaguely familiar with him as a character.  This helps.  If I didn’t go into the movie knowing what he was going to be like, I probably would have rolled my eyes a lot more than I did.  I like metafiction but sometimes enough is enough; I have a fairly high tolerance for gore but most conventional dirty humor bores me.

But I knew what to expect.  There were a couple of cringeworthy moments, but I’ve come to expect there will be cringeworthy moments in anything.  Here, a list of my thoughts.

  1. He was fairly likable even if he was up front about being not a good guy.  The things he did that were good sort of balanced out the bad ones.
  2. Gods but Vanessa (Morena Baccarin) was great.  Is.  She’s interesting and perfectly capable and tough in her own right and sarcastic and kind and also ridiculously hot.
  3. Negasonic Teenage Wasteland (Brianna Hildebrand) was great too.  She should probably have her own movie in the near future because her punky deadpan thing especially combined with explodey powers is amazing.
  4. Number one reason that I personally would love it if all the Marvel movies were by the same studio: I would not have to field questions about how one franchise from one studio fits in a timeline with the other studio’s franchises.  That would be nice.
  5. If Angel Dust (Gina Carano) had been more… I don’t know, compelling, that’s a good word for it, I would be tempted to cosplay her from the end.  Because that was literally just black pants and boots and a top with a vaguely steampunky corset over top.  (Brown and black together always looks steampunk to me.)
  6. I totally saw Leslie Uggams in Thoroughly Modern Millie on Broadway.  She was cool too.
  7. Ed Skrein makes a much better shitbag villain than he did a Daario Naharis.  Granted, a better Daario Naharis would be one who didn’t exist, but the point still stands.
  8. I enjoyed very much the sex positivity.  Vanessa’s comment about how she could sit on Wade’s face, that was great.  I laughed delightedly.  Most of the people around me did not.

–your fangirl heroine.

privatesmile

Leave a Reply

