Sundry Sunday :: 10 gifts that 2015 gave me

3 Jan

10. Inside Out
I wound up seeing this twice, actually, and it was just a delight.  Psychology: the animated movie!  I’m all about that.  I’m also all about cartoons that aren’t cloying, and this definitely wasn’t.

9. Jupiter Ascending
This is glorious trash and that is all there is to it.

8. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
If this had come out earlier in the year it would be higher up on the list, but I haven’t had time to crest the wave of buzz yet.  I’ve seen it twice and loved the hell out of it both times.  I love the babies, I can definitely feel my five-year-old self’s adoration for Leia swelling again.  It’s not exactly an unpredictable film but it’s so pleasant.

7. Badlands
I didn’t actually review this album here, but I absolutely love it.  Evey single song is solid gold (although I admit that “Colors” makes me giggle now because of a tumblr post pertaining to SHIELD 3.05 and “Castle,” while being one of my favorite tracks, makes me giggle now because of the Huntsman trailer).  Also, Halsey seems like a super cool person.

6. Daredevil + Jessica Jones
So I haven’t actually finished Daredevil yet but we marathoned Jessica Jones for the new year and I am in love.  I mean, I’m in love with both of these shows.  They’re ~dark and gritty~ but I’m fine with that because they’re also compelling and mostly populated by characters that I actually give a damn about.  There are really important platonic (“platonic”) relationships and hetero romances that don’t annoy me and wonderful casts that do an A+ job and it’s just so important.  Also, blowback of trauma and pulling no punches regarding it.

5. After It All
I haven’t been pre-hyped for an album like I was for this in a very long time, and it holds up so well.

 

4. lady relationships in SHIELD
Not all of the discussion here is pertinent to 2015, and there’s more to it than was written in that pre-season 3 post, so let me add also: Daisy (Chloe Bennet) and Jemma (Elizabeth Henstridge) are still so important and still love each other look they hugged again finally, Jemma and Bobbi (Adrianne Palicki) are so important too watch Bobbi still be one of the only people Jemma can actually talk to about things watch Bobbi have such emotion in her eyes when she sees Jemma returned from her brief kidnapping, Bobbi and Melinda (Ming-Na Wen) are so important watch Melinda test Bobbi watch Bobbi support Melinda watch them be undercover together and kicking ass together and amazing together.  Etcetera.

3. Every Open Eye
What beauty this album is.  What perfection.

2. Agent Carter
Peggy has always been my girl because vintage, but she’s also this feminine but lethal powerhouse of danger and beauty and cunning and I have a lot of emotions.

1. Mad Max: Fury Road
What a beautiful and important piece of cinema and I hope it is recognized for the masterpiece it is always.

–your fangirl heroine.

true20starry20eyes

 

 

Leave a Reply

