Spoiler Alert Sunday :: our thoughts on Star Wars: The Force Awakens

20 Dec

So.  This is a deal.  I loved the original trilogy when I was a kid and then felt lukewarm to angry about the prequels, but this movie had me grinning and emoting all the while through. (While I didn’t see any of them until I was sixteen, when I watched all of them in a day, then read a few of the Expanded Universe books, but have been fairly low-key about the whole thing prior to this.)  So here we are to give you a list of important but non-spoilery points about the film.

  • Leia (Carrie Fisher) is a giant badass and my five-year-old self (who was obsessed with her) made really good decisions.
  • REY (Daisy Ridley) IS THE BEST and I am emotional about her.
  • Leia and Han (Harrison Ford) still have remarkable sexual chemistry.
  • I actually loved Poe Dameron (Oscar Isaac) way more than I expected to. He’s a darling.
  • Finn (John Boyega) is a precious puppy and also a badass.
  • Kylo Ren (Adam Driver) is a child.
  • BB-8 is the droid version of a Corgi and very endearing.
  • This movie was just really fun. I think the last time I had this much fun in the theater was probably Kingsman earlier this year, and I honestly don’t remember the last time I did.
  • I think that’s the best point, actually, because that’s what the prequels were lacking.  They seemed to be trying too hard to be serious in places, so the “fun” moments felt stilted.

–your fangirl heroines.

sunshine20smile

Leave a Reply

