Things in Print Thursday :: some more coming of age novels.

29 Oct

This one classed as “10… you’ve never read” and is by a female author (Camille DeAngelis).

  1. The Magic Toyshop (Angela Carter): white female heterosexual protagonist.
  2. The Dark Is Rising (Susan Cooper): white male heterosexual protagonist.
  3. Into the Grey (Celine Kiernan): white male heterosexual protagonist.
  4. Sea & Storm (Kendall Kulper): white female heterosexual protagonist.
  5. The Dark (John McGahern): white male heterosexual protagonist.
  6. The White Forest (Adam McOmber): white female heterosexual protagonist.
  7. Emily’s Quest (L.M. Montgomery): white female heterosexual protagonist.
  8. The Bread Sister of Sinking Creek (Robin Moore): white female heterosexual protagonist.
  9. Prim Improper (Deirdre Sullivan): white female heterosexual protagonist.
  10. The Glass Casket (McCormick Templeman): white female heterosexual protagonist.

I don’t know what I was expecting.  “You’ve never read” would imply they’re less popular which would imply they’re more likely to be about nonwhite/queer people, I guess was my thought.  Just kidding.

Sigh.

–your fangirl heroine.

2 Responses to “Things in Print Thursday :: some more coming of age novels.”

  1. Adam McOmber November 2015 at 8:14 am #

    Thanks for mentioning my book The White Forest. Just a note: The main character isn’t a woman…she only appears to be one. There’s are various stories of same sex desire throughout the book as well. I am a queer author and pride myself in writing queer fiction, so I was a bit surprised to see myself on this list. Best, Adam

    • partlydrawn November 2015 at 9:03 pm #

      Oh! Well, that’s good to know! I’m glad to hear all of that. I was simply going off of the information that I could find in a simple search. This is a definite recommendation, though, and makes me considerably more interested!

Leave a Reply

