Marvel Monday :: Flowers With Thorns [a Raina fanmix]

22 Jun

flowers with thorns (front)

flowers with thorns (back)

1.  Right as Wrong (Inara George)
I wanna leave the house, wanna stand up now, open the door and find a destination, a revelation. I’ll see a ghost, he’ll steal my voice and I’ll begin again. I wanna be right, I want to be right.

2.  Happy Flower (Nellie McKay)
Me and you, we tease, we try, we’re cuttin’ off the ample charms put forward from the skies. But it’s a happy flower in the mornin’ sun And it’ll keep on glowin’ when the mornin’s done. And though our happy flower doesn’t make a sound, well, it’ll keep growin’ ’til it fills the ground of the garden ‘neath our window pane.

3.  Freak Like Me (Santigold)
If you will, there’s no need then to lay down. Why could you not stand, take a chance now, oh. Freak like me, freak like me, you a freak like me freak-freak like me-me.

4.  The Apocalypse Song (St. Vincent)
It’s time, you are light. I guess you are afraid of what everyone is made of. Time and light, I guess you are afraid of what everyone is made of. So take to the streets with apocalypse refrain, your devotion has the look of a lunatic’s gaze.

5.  No Mythologies to Follow ()
Born free, who am I to be when nothing in the world will have to rely on me? I remember good old times, the starships in your eyes, now we’re just getting drunk and die. You make me wanna waste by our wonder, only the gods save you when I’m gone. And we walk in fire like every riot and we do not know what to do. Where, where do we go? Where the, where the wind blows. We’re the youth on our own, waiting for our call. Where, where do we go? Where the, where the wind blows. Generation with no mythologies to follow.

6.  Lawless (Zola Jesus)
In these lawless times I’ve got nothing left to hide, give it up for good .You either run or take it and I know I won’t lose the will to make it out alive. Remember those unbilled days when I bought all and nobody could tell me I was wrong no, and in my own desire I’d be owed to no one other than myself?
We gotta get used to it now.

7.  Dark Doo Wop (MS MR)
The earth breaks, it falls and save your beat. I’d find myself swallowed, drowning in your heat. As long as we’re going down, baby you should stick around, baby you should stick around.
This world is gonna burn, burn burn burn. As long as we’re going down, baby you should stick around, baby you should stick around.

8.  Volunteer (Bitter Ruin)
Yes it’s a shame but you’re missing the point, I am fine, reliving, reliving, And yes I’m ashamed but the milestone is wandering far and I’m running, still running. Matter of fact you’re the bible with a violent impact, matter of fact you are blind.  In my mind I guess I am a volunteer, here out of choice.  In my mind I guess I am a volunteer, screaming with no voice.

9.  That Light (Dark Dark Dark)
Where’s that light you’re looking for? You can’t see it with your head underground, so just dig yourself out. You, your hands are stronger than you’d ever imagine so use them and dig and dig….

10.  The Flowers (Regina Spektor)
The flowers you gave me are rotting and still I refuse to throw them away. Some of the bulbs never opened quite fully, they might so I’m waiting and staying awake. Things I have loved I’m allowed to keep, I’ll never know if I go to sleep.

11.  Rose & Thorn (Alela Diane)
Said what I needed to say, I guess. Left those words a-hanging like a red dress. Oh the mess I’ve made, a crimson rose, a hundred thorns. Don’t ask me to explain for I do not know why, I’ve been keeping secrets for the first time in my life. Oh the mess I’ve made, a crimson rose, a hundred thorns.

12.  Cocoon (Polly Scattergood)
They sing of lost electric love, they sing about hope, they sing of giving up and then they sing about joy. They sing of pain, they sing about cold metallic blame. From my cocoon of angel wings, from my cocoon, I’m gonna let you in.

13.  Alien (Kim Boekbinder)
It’s bitter, it’s salty, yet sweet. It helps us go strong and good to do the right thing, just like we should, to do the right thing just like we should. When we are so removed we are alien.

14.  A Brand New Me (Bitter Ruin)
A waiting game, and though I can’t sit still, I’m sure that you are in more pain, as you’ve the guilty plea. And you can claim upon your mother’s life that you are in the clear, the jury’ll pin the blame on me. But I know that you know the lie and I know that you know there’s details you cannot deny.  So I will lie defeated here and though it may take many years, you’ll come clean.  I will cry repeatedly but I’ll come out the other side a brand new me.

Flowers With Thorns at 8tracks.

the most rage

Leave a Reply

