Superlative Sunday :: the 2015 Tony Awards and how I feel about them

8 Jun

So I… have not watched the Tonys yet.  We’re doing that tomorrow night, because like last year, tonight was Game of Thrones, and in retrospect I wish we had been watching the Tonys, but there you have it.

I won’t even presume to talk about plays, knowing nothing, but as the musicals go, I just watched the ~2 minute videos on the Tonys YouTube page.

Fun Home (Best Musical, Best Actor in a Musical [Michael Cerveris], Best Direction of a Musical [Sam Gold], Best Book of a Musical [Lisa Kron], Best Original Score [Jeanine Tesori and Lisa Kron])
This is based on the Alison Bechdel graphic novel and from what I can tell these awards were all deserved.  It’s staged differently than many things, it’s obviously an interesting story, I like Jeanine Tesori, I’m into it.  I totally want to see this, which is a really exhilarating feeling given the thoroughly uninspiring natures of seasons past.

Something Rotten! (Best Featured Actor in a Musical [Christian Borle])
This looks like… I would see it on tour but it wouldn’t be worth traveling for more than a few hours, depending on the cast.  I do love Christian Borle, though, so I’m happy he got an award, and it has Brian d’Arcy James and Heidi Blickenstaff and that’s always a good time, too.

An American in Paris (Best Scenic Design of a Musical, Best Lighting Design of a Musical [Natasha Katz], Best Orchestrations [Christopher Austin, Don Sebesky, Bill Elliott])
It looked like Vintage Manic Pixie Dream Girl, honestly.  I don’t know what it really is.  But it looked like that to me.  It was pretty, though.

The King and I (Best Revival of a Musical, Best Actress in a Musical [Kelli O’Hara], Best Featured Actress in a Musical [Ruthie Ann Miles], Best Costume Design of a Musical [Catherine Zuber])
It’s a classic sort of show, it was very nice to look at, and hey, A+, the Asian roles were played by Asian actors in the video I saw!  Also, I am so so happy for Kelli O’Hara, who is wonderful.

–your fangirl heroine.

omg noooooooooooope

Leave a Reply

