Spoiler Alert Saturday :: our thoughts on Mad Max: Fury Road

30 May

So, I loved Mad Max.  I don’t know the original series hardly at all (I got flashes of deja vu watching the movie that suggested I might have seen parts of the old films as a child and been so uncomfortable I didn’t pay attention) and initial trailers made me roll my eyes, but then I started to hear the feminist buzz and I was suddenly very, very interested.  Every story I heard about MRAs crying about it made me care more.

And I was not disappointed!  But I also lack intelligent original commentary, is the thing.  I’ve been seeing a lot around tumblr, though, so here are some good essays and blurbs and whatnot!  This is by no means a comprehensive list, but these are a few that have been around.

  • this is a ten reasons list that got my buzz going and sums it up nicely
  • this is a very short piece about why Furiosa (Charlize Theron) is important
  • this is a discussion about WOC representation in the film (noting the importance of the Polynesian women in the cast)
  • this is another short piece about women in the story
  • this is a post about trigger warnings for the film

And a friendly warning for anyone who gets anxious on behalf of characters in high-speed chases or other intense scenes: this movie is very intense and I (drift partner) personally was really affected by some of the near-misses and such and left the theater shaking a bit (but also pumped up). So be sure to be mindful of that if that’s a problem for you too.

–your fangirl heroines.

hello there

Leave a Reply

