Television Tuesday :: here we are, four weeks in.

5 May

Now, usually I talk about Game of Thrones a week or two after the season starts, and then again when it’s over.  You might be wondering why I’m waiting so long to do it this year.  Well, I said to myself, “I’m going to write about Game of Thrones once the Sand Snakes have arrived.”

This took… four episodes.

And mind, we got barely a taste of them.  But there they were.  I’m fairly sure that show!Tyene (Rosabell Laurenti Sellers) is going to be… essentially a creature of B&W’s own invention, which sucks because book!Tyene is my favorite (she’s got that cadence I gravitate toward) but I could be proved wrong, I don’t know.  She’s cute, though.  So far though, Nymeria (Jessica Henwick) and Obara (Keisha Castle-Hughes) seem true enough to book.  Obara’s monologue was pleasingly familiar, and they both have their proper weapons.

On the subject of monologues, I will say that that has been one of the things about the season so far that I’ve generally liked.  It’s as if B&W were like “oh, we’re five seasons in, better shoehorn in as much exposition as we can really really fast so we fill the show-watchers in on things they’re going to need to know that we’ve skipped in previous seasons.”  Or conversations-that-are-basically-monologues.  There have been multiple monologues per episode, the likes of which are more akin to Jaime in the baths in season three than anything else.  To wit, a list of veritable monologuers, in no particular order and doubtless incomplete:

  • Mance (Ciaran Hinds)
  • Melisandre (Carice van Houten)
  • Stannis (Stephen Dillane)
  • Shireen (Kerry Ingram)
  • Brienne (Gwendoline Christie)
  • Podrick (Daniel Portman)
  • Barristan (Ian McElhinney)
  • Daario (Michiel Huisman)
  • Obara
  • Ellaria (Indira Varma)
  • Daenerys (Emilia Clarke)
  • Baelish (Aidan Gillen)

And that’s to say nothing of the conversational exposition.  Which has been… basically everybody, and I am not going to list it all off because it would, basically, be a list of everybody in various configurations.  I’m perfectly comfortable with this.  I would probably watch an entire show that was just lengthy expositional conversations.  Sure, it’s a little jarring to go from a roundtable about Meereneese nobles to “so, Your Grace, about your father,” but I like it.  I don’t mind it at all.

Minor plot changes (having it be not-Jaqen [Tom Wlaschiha] at the House of Black and White, for example) I’m all right with.  Major plot changes (Sansa’s [Sophie Turner] line, which has elicited reactions such as “NO NO NO NO” and “nooooo, they can’t” and “Sansa just can’t catch a break” from my people who are show-watchers; the elimination of certain key characters) have been… less well-received.  But I’m not going to talk about my rage until it’s all over and done and I have concrete details to rage about.

–your fangirl heroine.

well then

Leave a Reply

