Spoiler Alert Saturday :: my thoughts on Avengers: Age of Ultron

2 May

Bulleting for… convenience, I don’t know.

  • Much hero.  Very conflict.  Many argue.  Wow.
  • So.  Not a perfect film.  Lots of people are discussing all the ways this is a thing.  I’m not going to go in that ring, because I am not good at doing that nine times of ten and other people are doing it better and also I’m trying this thing where, unless it’s something that I absolutely need to rage about (i.e. it involves… women in refrigerators, True Blood‘s last two seasons, or the friendzone), I am going to try to discuss mostly the positive aspects of things on the internet.  This is for my own mental health, because impassioned negativity makes my anxiety flare up like hell.  (This seems as good a post to put this in as any, I guess.)
  • So let’s talk positives.  I continue to think watching Natasha (Scarlett Johansson) fight is one of the most beautiful things.  Or watching her do most things.  I will admit to making funny noises and compulsively sipping my soda when she dropped out of the plane on the motorcycle (despite having seen that twenty times) and when she had her batons out.  (Giving her batons?  It was a very good idea.)
  • And I do think Bruce (Mark Ruffalo) and Tasha are cute.  I am not 100% into the narrative treatment of the storyline, but in general I am comfortable with them as a concept and whatnot.  I think it makes quite a lot of sense in its way.  (More sense than other romantic options for her, in my opinion.)
  • I turned to my mom at one point, toward the beginning even, and just said to her, “Tony Stark is the sweetest summer child.”  Tony’s (Robert Downey Jr.) plan was the worst plan ever, essentially, Ultron was the worst plan ever, and not sharing Ultron with anyone but Bruce prior to him going haywire was the worst plan ever, and thinking it would work was incredibly naive, and I kept almost giggling because have you learned nothing.  (This is not positive or negative, it just is and I needed to say it.)
  • I actually did rather like Wanda (Elizabeth Olson) and her abilities are pretty cool in their ex machina quality.  I had virtually no opinion of Pietro (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) except that it was hilarious that his suiting up for battle involved white tennis shoes.
  • CLINT BARTON’S FARM.
  • I also extremely enjoy that Clint’s (Jeremy Renner) primary function in the MCU seems to be inspiring women with previous dubious alliances to fight for the side of good.
  • Look at Maria (Cobie Smulders) go.  Look at her being functional.  Look at her making fun of the testosterone.
  • Gratuitous shirtless Thor (Chris Hemsworth) scene.
  • And Kerry Condon was the voice of Tony’s lady program, that’s exciting.
  • Is this new Avengers line-up comprised of Steve (Chris Evans), two girls, two awesome black guys (Don Cheadle’s Rhodey/War Machine and Anthony Mackie’s Sam/Falcon), and a sentient digital consciousness with a cape (Paul Bettany’s Vision)?  It seems like it.
  • Oh, and hooooly crap, Tuesday is going to be a thing.

–your fangirl heroine.

so there's that

One Response to “Spoiler Alert Saturday :: my thoughts on Avengers: Age of Ultron”

  1. ladymismagius May 2015 at 10:48 pm #

    So, let me join in (hope you don’t mind):
    – I liked the film, but I still prefer the first Avengers.
    – Strucker’s fortress was, in real life, in northern Italy, where I come from! Not the same region, but it’s still great.
    – I don’t know what to think of Natasha and Bruce. Quite unexpected but…I am not sure I like them as a couple. Though Bruce is very cute.
    – I liked the psychic-induced insight into Natasha’s past.
    – I liked the Avengers playing with Thor’s hammer during the party. Looks spontaneous – a thing that people would actually do at a party.
    – I liked the Vision. Well done, I am looking forward to further character development.
    – I don’t feel anything for Quicksilver. I think I prefer Bryan Singer’s Quicksilver and I never thought I would say this.

    By the way, I really appreciate your blog, so keep on rockin’!

Leave a Reply

