Television Tuesday :: 6 times television has actually answered my prayers

7 Apr

Only in regards to things I watched in real-time.  This is a list of things I have mostly talked about before, but that make me so happy.

6. That time Trudy (Alison Brie) dumped Pete (Vincent Karthesier), Mad Men
The funny thing about this was, I had genuinely not thought that the show would ever bother writing Trudy breaking up with Pete.  I felt like they’d been written sort of as the opposite of Betty (January Jones) and Don (Jon Hamm), insofar as — for a long time, she was still chipper about life with him.  And Trudy is a badass, so I thought maybe she’d make it work somehow, somehow.  But I really, truly hate Pete, so the episode when she just outright said “to hell with you, Pete” was a blessing and a surprise.

5. That time that Dany (Emilia Clarke) played with Missandei’s (Nathalie Emmanuel) hair, Game of Thrones
This is just the absolute silliest thing and I talk about it way too much given that it probably didn’t mean a single damn thing.  It had virtually no relevance to the plot.  The deleted scene with the two of them from the book (“never betray me” / “never”) was probably much more relevant, and achieved the same purpose of showing their closeness.  But… here.

4.  That time that Peggy (Hayley Atwell) moved in with Angie (Lyndsy Fonseca), Agent Carter
Because… because gal pals.  Because perfect, alive, happy gal pals sharing a mansion.

3.  That time that Tara (Rutina Wesley) kissed Pam (Kristin Bauer van Straten) an episode after Nora (Lucy Griffiths) kissed Salome (Valentina Cervi), True Blood
I am forever going to be bitter about this.  True Blood and its wasted ladies is the hill that I will die on, most like.  But — but when it happened it was so perfect and they had built to it, sort of, but somehow I wasn’t sure it was going to actually happen but it did.  And — and these two!  These two!  These two that I somehow didn’t expect I’d actually get evidence of, and then I did.

2.  That time that Jemma (Elizabeth Henstridge) saved her own damn life from an infectious disease, Agents of SHIELD
This, as y’all know, is incredibly important to me.  Not least because of its timing with regard to certain other infectious diseases on television for me.  But also it’s important because — okay, here is a vulnerable (read, not ass-kicking girl) character on a vulnerable (read, Whedonverse) show, and not only does she not fall victim, she simultaneously sacrifices herself bravely and saves her own life bravely and good god sweet science princess.

1.  That time Anne Weaver (Christine Adams), Agents of SHIELD
To wit: there was an MCU ladies week on tumblr a couple of months ago, and one of the days was devoted to things we wanted from the future.  One of the things I wanted was Anne Weaver, because hey, we know she was at the Academy when Hydra took over, but we never heard what happened to her but she was totally still alive, right?  And then she showed up a part of the “real SHIELD” making some valid points (and being honest respecting Jemma more in thirty seconds than most of her own teammates had directly done all season) and the fact that I said “Anne Weaver should return” and she did is incredible because that never happens.

And there, uh, there’s another thing for this list, actually, in a similar vein as the last point, but since it is from something that just aired tonight I will not say it here out of respect for my friends that I know don’t watch the night of.  But suffice to say, I had a similar reaction as pertained to that of Anne Weaver.  And I am in a really good mood.

–your fangirl heroine.

fangirling intensifies

Leave a Reply

