Music Monday :: my thoughts on If I Was

30 Mar

The Staves: one of the approximately 50 bands I have fallen in love with thanks to rabbit trailing on Spotify.  I don’t even remember how I found them, but I did, and I love them, and here’s a new album!

“Blood I Bled.”  I know I’ve played this track before (I guess they prereleased it or it was on an EP or something, because it’s definitely on the list of songs I keep just for “maybe I will mix with this” reasons) and I absolutely adore it.  It’s so beautiful and plaintive.  I assume also the “if I was” of the album title.  There’s something completely epic about it.

“Steady.”  I mean, I really like the other albums that are a bit more stripped-down folksy in places, but this one so far is so full and lush and rich and beautiful.  Also, I did not know until tonight they were from Hertfordshire.  That’s nice.  Gosh.  This is good right now for me.

“No Me, No You, No More.”  “I don’t need you but I want you back a little bit more.”  I love that this is so harmony-rich.  Three-parts on everything.  Gosh.  I’m really glad to be listening to this right now.  I want to wrap it around me like a blanket.

“Let Me Down.”  I think I might have heard this one before, too?  I can’t remember.  It’s really nice and plaintive but the twang for some reason is comforting tonight instead of painful?  I think it’s the harmonies, maybe.  There’s always a catharsis in lady harmonies.

“Black & White.”  Oh oh it’s rocking all… Raconteursy.  But ladies.  Gosh.  There’s guitar and harmonizing and I’m lost and I love it.  I want it in my car.

“Damn It All.”  Okay, so it’s a slower sort of admonition.  “Even though I love you, I want you to go.”  There’s a sort of strummy middle-of-the-end-of-the-movie sort of quality to this, and I like it.  I like it a lot.  There’s a vintage car driving off into the horizon, packed with somebody’s life.  I have it turned up quite loudly and I’m just flopping in it.

“The Shining.”  In short, yes.

“Don’t You Call Me Anymore.”  I’m not entirely at full speed today.  Various emotional hangovers and physical aches from the con, mostly.  So I’m finding it very easy to just fall into this and stay there.  Wrap it around me, sort of.

“Horizons.”  Oh, this one has a sort of 1970s quality to it that’s soothing in a different way.  It’s got the vintage harmonies and the horn and the sweet major key.

“Teeth White.”  Harmonies.  “I’m the only one not having fun.”  Also cheerful, but it’s not cheerful.  it’s cheerfully not-cheerful.  Because that’s just how this kind of song goes sometimes, and that’s nice.  Because, you know.  Sometimes life is like that.

“Make It Holy.”  Okay, this one seems proper Gothic-country aesthetic.  Possibly because of the twang and possibly because of the holiness in the lyrics, both of which suit.  Is there like, Anglican Gothic or something?

“Sadness Don’t Own Me.”  Mm, all right.  This is a useful song, I think.  I need something like this sometimes.  It’s sort of melancholy but it’s not too lost in the gloom.  And that’s important and nice.  This is just nice.

–your fangirl heroine.

oh noes

Leave a Reply

