Music Monday :: my thoughts on Short Movie

16 Mar

Hello, Laura Marling.  You are a good person to be playing loudly in my house while nobody is home, probably.

“Warrior.”  Well, we start off with a good title for any song and twang guitar yes okay exactly what I needed, maybe.  “I can’t be your horse anymore, you’re not the warrior I’m looking for” well that’s a sentiment that’s likely useful in many a place.  Followed by “you’re not the warrior I would die for” oop yes.  “This noble path we’re on will send us both to hell” OH GOOD GRIEF LAURA yes this is exceptionally atmospheric.  It’s more Western Gothic, possibly, which is odd because she’s British (South East England, via Hampshire, actually, which I didn’t know until I just looked it up) but y’know oh well.  It works.  It’s a mood.  It’s an atmosphere.  It’s twang and melancholy and lovely.

“False Hope.”  “Is it still okay that I don’t know how to be alone?” she asks over some fairly rock-strummed but still twangy guitars.  There’s an almost, like… Rent-y twist to some of this, too.  It’s Roger Davis meets Deadwood meets the sort of melancholy rock music that gets played in Tarantino films.

“I Feel Your Love.”  The articles that pointed me toward this were like “can you believe Laura Marling is only 25?  Really?” and normally that sort of thing makes me roll my eyes but it’s actually a good point, because she has a very mature voice.  And anyway I’m having one of those being-lost-in-the-song moments earlier than usual into the album with this song, because this is the sort of jam that usually gets saved for a later track and that makes me really excited about what’s to come here.

“Walk Alone.”  Following immediately with something slower and softer, as is a usual album pattern, and I… admit that I definitely just had to look it up to make sure she hadn’t just sang “by any God or Lannister,” because I’m having a weird day, I guess.  (She hadn’t.  “By any God or master,” actually, which makes more sense.)  This is quite pretty, though.  I’m good with it.

“Strange.”  Oop, more country sorta stomping.  She’s talking and now that I know I can definitely hear the South East and it’s lovely.  Oh gosh, this guitar.  I’m so happy about this.  There’s just such… I’m repeating myself, but atmosphere.  Such atmosphere here.

“Don’t Let Me Bring You Down.”  Now it straight-up sounds like a song from olden rock days that would be played in a movie.  It’s got the guitar and then the eventual uptick in percussion and I’m just very delighted by it.  “Love seems to be some kind of trickery” and the like, too.

“Easy.”  Innocent sorts of twang, too, because it can’t all be dark and emotionally intense.  It’s nice.  It’s pleasant.  “You can’t get lost if you’re not on your own, you can’t be found if you’re not all alone.”  What a nice.

“Gurdjieff’s Daughter.”  I assume this one is a story of sorts, given that unusual sort of title.  She’s got that upbeat storyteller sort of note to her voice.  It sounds very vintage and lo-fi and lovely.

“Divine.”  I’m really interested in just wrapping this around me and shutting my eyes and listening to this quite a lot.  This is not the sort of music I should probably play when I’m at work or something, just because it’s emotional-twang enough that I might get idly distracted by feelings about random things, but it’s the sort of music that’s very suited for dark nights in houses alone, as I expected.

“How Can I.”  I also like her way of singing a lot of words very fast in a talking fashion, to get them all out.  That’s lovely.  This is a simpler sort of message, of course, “how can I live without you,” but it’s nice.

“Howl.”  It’s moody and vague and I like it so much.  I’m lost. It’s beautiful.  There are a lot of lines about horses tracing through this album, and I’m fine with that.  Also, “the long tears of women are silent, so they won’t wake those who sleep.”

“Short Movie.”  Some of the more innocent twang for the title track, apparently.  Lost all over.

“Worship Me.”  Oh, fun.  This is a fun sort of motif.  And this is a pretty, soft sort of song.

–your fangirl heroine.

monologue

Leave a Reply

