Superlative Sunday :: the 2015 Oscars and how I feel about them

22 Feb

Birdman (Best Picture, Best Director [Alejandro González Iñárritu], Best Original Screenplay [Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo], Cinematography)
This was… a lot more awards than I expected this movie to get.  Not because it wasn’t good, because it was, objectively (I’m particularly pleased with the screenplay nod, as I think I’d have liked reading it more than I liked watching it) but I just… didn’t predict this.  It hasn’t been raking them in this season in all of these categories, so it sort of came out of nowhere, but hey, it’s a more interesting, different movie than a lot of the movies that got nominated, I guess.

The Theory of Everything (Best Actor [Eddie Redmayne])
Good job, buddy.  I’m proud of you.  (I keep seeing things on tumblr like, “Jupiter Ascending, starring Academy Award winner Eddie Redmayne,” and that alone is worth it.)  Also, he and Felicity Jones are like a pair of adorable cartoon bunny rabbits.  (Her dress was probably my favorite of the night, too.)

Big Hero 6 (Best Animated Feature)
Yes.  This was basically the only award this season I had any stake in, and so I’m glad they made the right decision.  Because I cannot think of a bad thing to say about this movie.  I love it more with each passing day.

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Best Original Score [Alexandre Desplat], Costume Design, Makeup and Hairstyling, Production Design)
Yes all right.  The aesthetic is the high point of Wes Anderson movies, so giving this a bunch of aesthetic awards is fine by me.

Also.  The performance of “Everything is Awesome” was amazing, and Lady Gaga’s Sound of Music was a surprisingly good time.

–your fangirl heroine.

shoulda listened

Leave a Reply

