Television Tuesday :: 5 television scenes

27 Jan

Basically, this is just a list of television scenes that I will reblog every time gifs of them pop up on my tumblr dashboard.  And why.  It’s sort of one of those “essential me” lists but of specific scenes, I guess.  These are all interpersonal scenes.

5.  this Kaylee and Wash scene (1.13 “Heart of Gold”)
Actually, it’s one of the only little scenes that’s only Kaylee (Jewel Staite) and Wash (Alan Tudyk) talking in the whole series, but it’s really telling.  And I admit I reblog it a lot just because I have been, uh, able to relate to that scene a lot in the past, but also I reblog it because it’s this really cute snapshot of their relationship and what it’s like probably.  Banter and also reassurance and sweetness.

4.  this Jemma and Skye scene (1.07 “The Hub”)
Being honest, I reblog every Jemma (Elizabeth Henstridge) and Skye (Chloe Bennet) scene every time I see it, because all of them illuminate different parts of their relationship, all of which are really important and lovely no matter how you interpret it, but this is the one that comes up most.  It’s funny, because it seems kind of cute and one-off but it also explains pretty much everything about their respective motivations and how that feeds their dynamic (Jemma’s need to be good, Skye’s willingness to stop at nothing, in the right way; how those things can sometimes conflict and sometimes work together) and it just seems really cute and funny, but it’s actually very meaningful.

3.  Eric and Nora’s first sex scene (5.01 “Turn!  Turn!  Turn!”)
Okay, so I admit that some of my frequent reblogging of this just comes from the fact that uh, it’s my favorite male/female television sex scene of all.  But as you’ll notice, it’s not just the parts with the sex that I’m obsessed with.  I’ve seen a video of Lucy Griffiths explaining that their other sex scene, the one in 5.11 “Sunset,” was actually hers and Alexander Skarsgard’s idea because they felt that that was just one of the ways that Nora and Eric process things and relate, i.e. physically.  There are so many things about this scene that I am obsessed with and have written about before (the interplay of Swedish and English, the unabashed nature of it, that bit at the end where she gets snippy at him and he gets snippy back because they fight like siblings) and it’s a really interesting crash course on nuances of their relationship.

2.  this Alma and Sofia scene (2.11 “The Whores Can Come”)
I am just obsessed with this scene.  I once made a gif set of it and someone wrote the single most amazing tag meta essay at the bottom of their reblog; it is my deep regret that I did not save that essay and that now I don’t remember which blog it was on to go track it down.  But the points it made were, if I recall, this: it’s a beautiful example of Alma (Molly Parker) trying to relate to Sofia (Bree Seanna Wall) in any way that she can, trying to take care of her but not quite having the language to relate to her like a mother might normally relate to a child, trying to explain dealing with difficult situations as clearly as she can and not even knowing how much Sofia understands but still having to try.  It’s their bond and their bond is beautiful.

1.  the Dany/Doreah scene (1.02 “The Kingsroad”)
This is really very unsurprising.  I’ve written an entire essay about this two-minute scene.  But this scene… this scene is, in my opinion, one of the best things if not the best thing that the showrunners have added to the television canon, not just because it primed me for the inexplicitly canon femslash ship that ruined my heart and soul.  Not just because it’s so pretty, which it is.  But because it’s also really important for all of those reasons I detailed in my essay.  It explains so many things about Dany (Emilia Clarke) and about Doreah (Roxanne McKee) and about what they can learn and teach each other.

–your fangirl heroine.

stop it

Leave a Reply

