Superlative Sunday :: the 2015 Golden Globes and how I feel about them

11 Jan

By movie as usual.

The Theory of Everything (Actor, drama [Eddie Redmayne], Original score [Johann Johansson])
All right!  I think buddy (he’s one of those actors I just want to call buddy, I don’t know) did a very damn good job, and he’s also the only one in the category I can speak for as I haven’t seen any of the other films yet.  The score, I don’t remember to any degree, but I assume it was functional?

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Comedy or musical)
All right!  Of the three in this category that I saw, this was the one I liked the most, and I think Wes Anderson movies are always weird little art pieces, so I’m completely comfortable with this.

Birdman (Actor, comedy or musical [Michael Keaton], Screenplay [Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo])
This was not my favorite filmgoing experience ever, but I’d say that both of these awards were deserved.  Keaton did give a good performance and I genuinely think I’d have liked just reading the screenplay more than watching the film.  I think it’s odd that they classed this as a comedy, honestly, but the classifications often do not make sense to me.

Big Eyes (Actress, comedy or musical [Amy Adams])
What a completely deserved award.  Amy Adams always gives kickass performances, and this one was fascinating to me, as you all saw.  I’m very interested in seeing how she fares come Oscar time.

Fargo (Miniseries or TV movie, Actor, miniseries or TV movie [Billy Bob Thornton])
This is the only television show I watched that won any awards???  I don’t know how that is (but then again I’ve never heard of multiple nominated television shows?) but there we are.  And I’d say they were deserved awards.  It was a solid little series.

–your fangirl heroine.

monologue

Leave a Reply

