Music Monday :: my thoughts on True Love in Modern Stereo

5 Jan

First album liveblog of the year goes to a band I’ve never heard of but chose solely based on their name being roboteyes.  It’s only five songs, but they’re called roboteyes and that intrigues me.

“In Flames.”  That also helps.  My initial impression is that this is serviceable, functional pop music that may distinguish itself further in a minute.  It’s not bad.  It’s not sending chills up my spine, which actually does happen sometimes for me (previously unreviewed but top 10-of-last-year-worthy Bitter Ruin definitely did that for me on initial listen) but it’s all right.

“Coattails.”  The sung melody feels slightly not-the-norm right now, possibly because it sounds a little low for a female singer in contrast with the super-high harmonies.  “So put your coattails on, we’ve got a lot of work to do.”  That’s pretty cute.  This feels fairly uplifting.

“Call My Name.”  This one sounds particularly 80s.  Maybe it’s the synthesized nature of the backing instruments or the periodic claps?  I don’t know, it makes sense that someones called roboteyes would produce 80s-sounding music to me.

“Waiting and Watching.”  Yeah, more of that 80s for sure.  A lot of pop that I’m randomly clicking on has 80s synth lately.  I don’t know.  This isn’t blowing my mind but it’s very palatable?  And kind of sounds like the music that would be over a dramatic montage in a dubbed version of Sailor Moon?

“Change For Me.”  I think I need to start making mix albums that sound exclusively like the 80s, there’s enough material for it.  This one is the ballad of the bunch, and for what it is it works.

–your fangirl heroine.

noooooooooope

One Response to “Music Monday :: my thoughts on True Love in Modern Stereo”

  1. weareroboteyes January 2015 at 10:03 am #

    Thanks for listening! Always cool to see impressions of the music!

Leave a Reply

