Things in Print Thursday :: apparently, 25 books every girl should read before she turns 25.

27 Nov

Since I had read 0 of the last 84 of that list of children’s books, I’m moving right along to a list posted on HelloGiggles.  Let’s see how much work I have to do in the next year.

1. Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende
I’ve read some of Allende’s works, but not this one.  I should do that.

2. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
I have not read this either, despite having meant to since I first heard of it.

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Yeah, I’ve discussed this one before.

4. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
Need to get on it.

5. Matilda by Roald Dahl
Finally!  One I’ve genuinely read.  And genuinely liked.  I didn’t read it until a couple years ago, actually, I read it for a class and I did really enjoy it.

6. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
Another!  It’s not my favorite of Atwood’s, but that’s mostly because I am disproportionately attached to The Blind Assassin.  I genuinely do like this one a lot, too, and it’s very important reading.

7. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Need to get on it.

8. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
I have definitely read this, although I read it in fifth grade and doubtless missed a lot of the important elements of it as such.

9. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
It’s on my list.

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Yep!  Check.  I should go back and read it again with different not-eighth grade eyes, but I have read it.

11. Bossypants by Tina Fey
I really really need to get around to this.

12. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
Another one where I’ve read other of Morrison’s works, but not this one.

13. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
Haven’t.  Most likely won’t, I admit.

14. Forever… by Judy Blume
I also thoroughly missed the Judy Blume stage of my life somehow and probably will not remedy this.

15. Feminism is for Everybody: Passionate Politics by bell hooks
Need to get around to this one, too.

16. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
Somehow I never actually read this?  I don’t know how.

17. The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson
I’d never even heard of this book before now.

18. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Need to get around to it.

19. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle
Another one I somehow skipped as a kid.  Oops.

20. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
I’ve read this one, though!  A bunch of times.

21. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
And this one.

22. Ella Enchanted by Gail Levine
I know I did, though I don’t remember it particularly well.

23. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Another one I’ve read a bunch of times.  If I owned books as an adolescent, I reread them compulsively.

24. Esperanza Rising by Pam Muñoz Ryan
Need to.

25. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
Really need to.

–your fangirl heroine.

what no there's no problem

Leave a Reply

