Spoiler Alert Saturday :: my thoughts on The Book Of Life

25 Oct

In the form of a series of random observations, because… well, I really think it’s important for y’all to see this, it was a lovely and refreshing film.  I won’t summarize the plot; the plot isn’t stunningly surprising or anything, that isn’t really the point.  It’s just so beautifully crafted and sweet and it’s in the telling, sort of, I guess that’s the way to put it.

So.

One.  I really, really enjoy Spanish guitar.  I always forget how much until I hear it again and I just feel so happy.

Two. Xibalba (voiced by Ron Perlman)…

xibalba

…looked a hell of a lot like My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic‘s Discord.

I’m not sure… why this happened.  But Xibalba was unnerving me for like half the movie before I had that revelation and then had to work really hard not to laugh.

Three.  I really like that Maria (voiced by Zoe Saldana) was sent to nun school to get “tamed” probably in her dad’s opinion and came back a more outspoken feminist than ever.  Who could use swords and rallied her town to fight the pirates.  And actually said “men” at one point, highlighting the predictability of machismo-driven behavior.

Four.  In a post-movie discussion, my dear mentioned that Zibalba and La Muerte (voiced by Kate Del Castillo) had a Gomez and Morticia vibe, and that was true and is a lot of fun.

Five.  I really enjoy that the message of the story was basically “don’t be an asshole.”  Maria didn’t choose Manolo (voiced by Diego Luna) because he was sensitive and a nice guy, she chose him because he wasn’t an asshole and he was presenting interest in and care for her.  Joaquin (voiced by Channing Tatum)… gave her a photograph of himself and wanted her to settle down and cook his meals for him and whatnot.  And he eventually learned not to be an asshole, too, so that’s nice.  And Carlos the dad (voiced by Hector Elizondo) learned not to be an asshole, and the general dad (voiced by Carlos Alazraqui) learned not to be an asshole.  And etcetera.

–your fangirl heroine.

mannerly snark

Leave a Reply

