Music Monday :: my thoughts on Rips

29 Sep

This is lady punk and the description referenced riot grrl.  I’m here for that.

“Don’t Wanna Lose.”  Yeah, this is pretty straightforward.  Lady punk tends to involve lower voices, i.e. more alto at times, and that’s fun in a different way than other things.  “I thought you were a man of action, now come on baby come on give me a little reaction.”  Also the description said that they were having a lot of fun, and I bet they are.  I kind of feel like this should involve dancing around one’s room in one’s pajamas.

“Beast.”  This sounds more like 80s punk than what little I know of now-punk, at least in the guitars, but as, well, I know very little of now-punk, that’s fine by me.  I mean, I don’t know much about 80s punk either, but that’s the vibe I’m getting here.  Also, they just said “and in the morning, you had second sight” and that’s fun.

“Waste Your Time.”  There’s also a tiny hint of post-surf guitar, I think, and that’s a real delight.  I don’t know.  This is making me smile.

“You Fell Apart.”  I don’t know, quite.  All of these songs are transitioning very nicely into each other, and so far one isn’t particularly sticking out but they’re all nice and I feel very good.  It doesn’t quite have the same tone as the riot grrrl that I’m familiar with, but I can understand how those elements are there.

“How You Got That Girl.”  Also this is just really damn cute.  It’s got a slightly Runaways vibe, and that’s neat.  Sort of the Runaways mixed with a slightly harder-edged Josie and the Pussycats.   I mean that with the utmost respect and affection, incidentally.

“Waterfall.”  As this.  This sounds almost exactly like a Josie and the Pussycats riff.  The lyrics also sound… not unlike a Josie and the Pussycats song, although the vocals themselves have a different edge to them.  Also they just included the phrase “chemical reaction” which is an automatic A+ from me.

“Hot and Cold.”  This just feels 90s but in the best way.  I’m getting nostalgic in a way I can’t even place, which doesn’t even make sense because with the exception of Josie and the Pussycats, to whatever degree that counts, the lady rock of the 90s/early 00s didn’t have anything to do with me, but oh well.

“Radio On.”  This also sounds like my senior year of high school, during which I spent a lot of time listening to podcasts full of lady rockers.  (A large part of this was that I’d gone out of my way to produce an entire page of articles about female musicians for my school newspaper’s music issue, since nobody else was writing about female musicians at all, and it had originally begun as research.)  I don’t know why, because I’m sure that Ex Hex was never involved since they’re a new thing (one of Mary Timony’s other projects might have showed up at some point) but it fits in that vibe.

“New Kid.”  Or possibly this is driving in the car music.  Long road trips on the highway, blasting some lady punk and rocking out.  Maybe this could be for that, too.

“War Paint.”  See, this one even encourages dancing.  Dance so much. This is cute and fun and it’d also possibly be nice to make cupcakes to, although I usually tend toward darker more folk stuff when baking.  This would be for baking with your friends, I think

“Everywhere.” Sadly, I can’t find the lyrics to more than the first song off of this album yet, but I’d like to sit down and look at the lyrics and see what’s going on in that regard.  I feel like I could find good places for some of these songs.

“Outro.”  And just… a nice closing jam.  I’m spacing out to it a little bit, it’s sort of got that ambiance, but it’s pleasant.  I feel good about this.

–your fangirl heroine.

consider your options

Leave a Reply

