Spoiler Alert Saturday :: my thoughts on The One I Love

6 Sep

I’m not entirely sure what I thought.

I mean, it was a good movie.  It’s interesting to watch anything where actors dabble in doppelgangers, and Elisabeth Moss (the reason we watched this, to be honest) and Mark Duplass did a good job with it.  It wasn’t as if they were radically different characters, and that was sort of the point; the differences were minute enough that it was just slightly surreal, not radically different.  It was an interesting premise, the couple having marital difficulties met with their doppelgangers over a weekend and experimenting with that.

Most interesting to me about the movie was what the minute differences in the doppelgangers were.  Little was known about the originals’ personalities, but it could be assumed that they were a fairly average pair, unremarkable; the doppelganger wife was more smiley and complacent, more “whatever you say, dear,” while the doppelganger husband was at least at first more directly sensitive.  As if playing up the romantic stereotypes of what the opposite spouse might be interested in.

I’m not sure exactly what to make of the story’s details, is the thing.  Mostly the outcome.  I think it’s an interesting movie and worth watching if just for Elisabeth’s sake, so I won’t say exactly what the outcome was, but I’m not sure quite what to make of the implications and I think that might be all I have to say about that.

–your fangirl heroine.

you don't even know

Leave a Reply

