Television Tuesday :: Our Revolution is Long Overdue [a fanmix]

2 Sep

*for television women including but not limited to the pictured who doubtless have some words (and more) for the men in their lives/and or their writers and showrunners.  From a Margaret Cho quote.

our revolution is long overdue (back)

1. Sweet as Whole (Sara Bareilles)
Sometimes I can be perfectly sweet, hot this sugary me stuffed in my sleeve and I talk of ponies and rainbows and things and I’m just who you want me to be.  But like most creatures down here on the ground, I’m composed of the elements moving around and I grow and change and I shift and I switch and it turns out I’m actually kind of a bitch.  But that only happens when I get provoked by some piece of shit asshole we all sadly know and I sit and I write while reminding you all that mean songs are still better than going postal.

2. Black Tongue (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)
Sunny kept his ring on, red tape so ordinary, love I feel like it was gone, gone, gone, gone, let’s do this like a prison break, I wanna see you squeal and shake.  Boy you just a stupid bitch, and girl you just a no good dick.

3.  Seventeen (Marina and the Diamonds )
You’re a rich little boy who’s had to work for his toys, you’ve got all the sensibilities, oh, of an upper class guy.  No, no I’m not your little slave, no I don’t twist and turn that way, only got bad things to say.  You’re always asking what is up, up with me, could never tell you what happened the day I turned seventeen, the rise of a king and the fall of a queen, oh seventeen.

4.  Palace (Dessa)
Oh that trouble you’ve been looking for, it came looking for you shouldn’t open doors you don’t plan to walk through.  If I were you I‘d pay my dues before I lose. That trouble you’ve been looking for it came looking for you shouldn’t open doors you don’t plan to walk through.  If i were you I’d pay my dues.

5.  Demons (Sleigh Bells)
You drink the wise blood, you’re gonna hear about it, you’ll be taken down brick by brick by brick.  Burn the orphanage, you’re gonna pay for it, they will purify block by block by block.  Demons, come on, you’ve got a vision, you’re on a mission.  Demons live on, and when I die, hang me high.

6.  Flashlight (Ellie Goulding)
Coming down on you with a flashing light, there’s nowhere to run, baby you can’t hide.  Gonna make you move, make you move, make you move.  It’s too late now the table’s turned, there’s no going back and you’ll never learn unless I make you move, I’ll make you move, I’ll make you move, I’ll make you move.  And you think I’m still broken-hearted, but you’ll never win the war you started, you’ll never open your eyes.

7.  Shot You Down (Florrie)
I think about it every day, I shouldn’t have hurt you that way, but it’s a little late to say that I can erase your heartache.  Thinking about it, thinking about it, thinking about it.  Oooooh baby.  I pulled the trigger on our love, keep messing me around.  Got my finger on the gun, bang bang I shot you down.

8.  Sun of a Gun (Oh Land)
Birds sing for you, you can make the blue sky blush, you’ve got them all fooled.  But I am burned out on this rush, I want to change the orbit.  Don’t care what you do now, I want to live in darkness, don’t want to be spun around.

9.  The Lion the Beast the Beat (Grace Potter and the Nocturnals)
It’s time to meet your maker, make the road your undertaker.  Can somebody let the beast out, baby?  Can’t stop the beat, can’t stop the beat, run, but you can’t hide from the heat.  Life is a record, playing on repeat, I’m running wild, with the lion, the beast, the beat.  So don’t you try to tame the lion, just to ride on the horizon.  Can somebody let the beast out, baby?  Yeah, we all hide our desire and then we feel the beat like fire.  Can somebody let the beast out, baby?

10.  Wishing He Was Dead (The Like)
If I could snap that neck, that broken record trainwreck, I might feel okay.  If he could speak the truth or just say sorry, that would be the day.  But he made me crazy, thinking I was wrong, that he wasn’t cheatin’ all along. When I gave him everything that I could give now he’s gonna wish he’d never lived.

11. Gun (CHVRCHES)
Who are you to tell me how to keep myself afloat?  I tread the water all the while, you stuck in the knife that you held at my back.  Did it make you feel so clever?  Did you wear it on your sleeve?  Did you see another lifetime where I was not a part so far entwined?

12. We’re Out for Blood (Marian Call)
Baby you thought I was a goner but you were dead wrong.  Baby I’m back and I brought some friends along.  It’s time to start running boy if you wanna live to learn what happens when you leave your baby behind to burn, burn, burn.

13.  Kill My Boyfriend (Natalia Kills)
You’re the one I want, everything I’m dreaming off.  Don’t make me break his heart into million pieces, no.  But every time I’m with him, I imagine that we’re kissing and I’m wishing he was you all along.  And boy I’m so committed, I’m so deep, there’s no more digging, there’s only one thing I can do to solve this mess, come on.

14.  Salute (Little Mix)
You think we’re just pretty things, you couldn’t be more wrong (we’re standing strong, we carry on).  Knock us but we keep moving up (we’re moving up, yeah).  Can’t stop a hurricane, ladies it’s time to awake (yeah!)

Our Revolution is Long Overdue at 8tracks.

–your fangirl heroine.

primp

Leave a Reply

