Superlative Sunday :: the 2014 Teen Choice Awards and my thoughts on them

10 Aug

As usual, I did not watch these.  I just looked up the results because I saw pictures of Hannah Hart attending them on tumblr and remembered that oh yeah, that had happened.

And I cringed the whole list down.  There were nominations for some of my things (several for Winter Soldier, a few for Thor: The Dark World, etcetera) but no wins.  Or rather, the only win that went to one of my things was Brett Dalton for Choice TV: Male Breakout Star.  This is nothing against Brett Dalton, who seems like a lovely person, but honestly before he was evil Grant Ward bored me and after he was evil Grant Ward frustrated the hell out of me because he represents a lot of fandom double standards that are willing to forgive/make apologies for/woobify pretty white boys no matter what.  As far as breaking out went, he broke out into fitting the exact mold that a lot of fandom darlings seem to do and probably should not.

And let’s just talk about the injustice of a world where not one but two awards that could have gone to Anthony Mackie (+ Chris Evans) for Winter Soldier went to The Fault in Our Stars.  I have not seen The Fault in Our Stars and do not intend to, but I find it difficult to believe that the three main kids from that movie could possibly have had more chemistry than Anthony Mackie and Chris Evans or that one of those kids could have been more of a scene stealer than Anthony Mackie.  That just seems impossible to me.

But I don’t know.  I’m not a teen anymore, so my opinions are irrelevant.

–your fangirl heroine.

troubled fidgeting

Leave a Reply

