Television Tuesday :: 5 of my television joy bombs

5 Aug

5.  Community seasons 1-3
I have not seen past the third season of Community and I do not intend to.  I’ve been warned against continuing on with it, but I really, really enjoyed the three seasons I did watch.  I like Troy (Donald Glover) and Abed (Danny Pudi) and Annie (Alison Brie) and Britta (Gillian Jacobs) and Shirley (Yvette Nicole Brown), I like them all so much, and that’s the majority of the cast so that’s a good thing.  And found families of a sort.  That’s going to be one of the themes here on this list of shows that make me happy.

4.  My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic
Just… go in my tag for this show.  Y’all know how I feel.

3.  Parks and Recreation
I haven’t seen the most recent season of this, but seasons 1-5 make me so happy.  I was recently laid up in bed for a sick day and basically all I did was sleep and watch a season of this show nonstop on Netflix.  It’s just a lovely show.  And it is so important.  It is literally misanthropic meliorism: the people of Pawnee are often doing stupid things en masse but Leslie (Amy Poehler) believes so wholly that people have the capability to be better if they just try and want to that she tries to inspire that in others.  Everyone does.  It’s beautiful.

2.  Sailor Moon
Again.  The tag.

1.  The Middleman
I haven’t mentioned this show here before, but I watched all twelve episodes in very rapid succession some months back at friends’ prompting and I was so consistently delighted.  So consistently.  Have you ever wanted to watch a show about a delightfully square secret agent of sorts (Matt Keeslar) and his newly recruited WOC apprentice (Natalie Morales) and her wacky artist roommate (Brit Morgan) and so many other wonderful characters doing wacky things like getting involved with world-saving scenarios involving alien boy bands and succubi and alternate dimensions?  This is a show for you.

–your fangirl heroine.

some clues are being missed

Leave a Reply

