Things in Print Thursday :: previous SparkNotes stats and my literary career

31 Jul

Straightforward.  How many of the SparkNotes books with female central characters or LGBTQ characters have I read?  And which did I read for school?  I’m genuinely curious and skeptical.

Female central characters

I have read 33 of the 154 (or 21.4%) books on SparkNotes with female central characters.

23 (or 14.9%) of those were ones I read for school, and 5 of the ones I read for school were for individual book reports or the like, not actual curriculum.

4 were books I read in grade school, all either for individual book reports or small group book projects (i.e. the class could choose between 4-5 books, and each book had 4-5 kids reading it).

1 was a book I read in junior high school.

10 were books I read in high school, 1 of which was for an individual book report and 2 of which were for a drama class, not an English class.

9 were books I read in college.

I read Twelfth Night and Jane Eyre for both high school and college.

LGBTQ characters

I have read 6 of the 29 (or 20.6%) books on SparkNotes with LGBTQ characters.

3 of those were ones I read for school.  All of the ones I read for school involved gay or bisexual men, one of whom was never seen onstage (A Streetcar Named Desire) and one of whom was never explicitly stated as being LGBTQ (The Picture of Dorian Gray).

–your fangirl heroine.

oh my gods stop

Leave a Reply

