Music Monday :: 5 more x6 artists commonly found in the ASOIAF tag on 8tracks

7 Jul

The theme tonight is “songs that are on every Stark mix because they’ve got ‘wolf’ or ‘wolves’ in the title and that I haven’t listed yet.”

5. Phosphorescent, “Wolves
This involves ukulele, so it should be happier than it is, but it’s really not a happy song.  “They’re tearing up holes in the house, they’re tearing their claws in the ground, they’re staring with blood in their mouths, Mama they won’t let me out” and the like.  I don’t know anything else by this group at all, but this song has been known to show up on mixes often.  It’s sort of wistful, I guess?

4. Sea Wolf, “You’re a Wolf
This song was used in an episode of The Vampire Diaries, so that’s why it’s always around I assume.  Because things on soundtracks are everywhere.

3. Ben Howard, “The Wolves
This one is also one that sounds more chipper than it really is, probably.  But it shows up everywhere.

2. Ellie Goulding or Bon Iver, “The Wolves
Being me, I naturally like Ellie’s version more, even though Bon Iver’s is the original.  Which is not to say I don’t like it, but Ellie is one of my girls, so it’s a loyalty issue.

1.  Tailor, “Wolf
This one shows up sometimes, but not as often as it ought to, in my opinion.  I’m ignorant to the rest of the artist’s collection but I think that should maybe change soon.  It’s slightly twangy and also very, very weird in the best of ways.

–your fangirl heroine.

drawn in

Leave a Reply

