Television Tuesday :: The (Hell) We Live In Now [a Southern Gothic Game of Thrones* fanmix]

24 Jun

*A Storm of Swords/seasons 3 and 4.

the (hell) we live in now front

the (hell) we live in now back

1. Souvenirs (Timber Timbre)
Instrumental.

2. Dreams (Brandi Carlile)
Dreams, I have dreams when I’m awake when I’m asleep, and you, you are in my dreams, you’re underneath my skin, how am I so weak?  And now in my dreams, I can feel the way, I can just come clean.  I keep it to myself, I know what it means, I can’t have you, but I have dreams.

3.  Blue Fish (Eisley)
Hallelujah, bait me like blue fish.  Hallelujah, twisted, battered, bait me, bait me.  We all fall down, we all fall down.

4. Fire (Delta Rae)
It won’t be pretty, I ain’t no girl cried wolf, I’ll bring this whole damn city, they’ll come from miles around just to see how you cut me down.  We used to be friends, but that ain’t true now, you poisoned the well, now I can’t tell who’s on my side.

5. I Had Me a Girl (The Civil Wars)
I had me a girl who taught me those things a young man should know.  Down, down on my knees I’d beg and I’d plead to learn a little bit more.  Oh that woman taught me to pray, I saw Heaven every day.

6. Entitlement (Jack White)
There are children today who were lied to, told the world is rightfully theirs.  They can have what they want, whenever they want, they take like Caesar and nobody cares, live like Caesar and nobody cares.  I can’t bring myself to take without penance or atonements or sweat from my brow.  Though the world may be spoiled and getting worse every day don’t they feel like they’re cheated somehow, I feel like I’ve been cheated somehow.

7. Pretty Girls (Neko Case)
Your hearts are so tried and so innocent, wind your flimsy blue gowns tight around you, around curves so comely and sinister, they blame it on you pretty girls.  Oh pretty girls, you’re too good for this, how you break my heart in this cold waiting room.  Oh pretty girls, you’re too good for this, don’t let them tell you you’re nothing, don’t let them break your hearts too.

8.  Wedding Song (Anais Mitchell)
Lover, tell me, if you’re able, who’s gonna lay the wedding table?  Times being what they are, dark and getting darker all the time.

9.  Nothing But the Water (I) (Grace Potter and the Nocturnals)
I have seen what man can do when the evil lives inside of you.  Many are the weak and the strong are few.  But with the water, we’ll start anew.

10. River Deep (The Devil Makes Three)
When you’re sittin’ in the city large just laid back lazy starring to the stars, you’re still just laying right where you are, where you are, where you are.  The beast is bitter, sink its teeth in deep, she’ll bite you while you’re dreamin’ send you off to your sleep.  And you carry, you carry on down, on down, on down, down that river deep.

11. Sister (The Black Keys)
I used to say I need you but now I gotta leave you.  Sister, sister what did they do to you, sister, sister what did they do to you.  Did they take and try to break a heart that long, it’s so wrong.  Hung up, got me hung up in draft.  Rung up, got me rung up in bed.  You took advantage of the one who showed you love.

12. Queen of the Lot (The Spring Standards)
Why not have it all? You’ve every right to take what’s not tied down, you’ve earned your spot as queen of the lot so take the cake and choke your winnings down, so choke your winnings down, you’d better choke your winnings down before I steal your crown.

13. Storm Comin’ (The Wailin’ Jennys)
When those lights flash then you’ll hear that thunder roar.  When those lights flash you’ll hear that thunder roar.  When those lights flash you’ll hear that thunder roar.  Will you listen to that thunder roar and let your spirit soar.

14. The Humbling River (Puscifer)
Braved the forests, braved the stone, braved the icy winds and fire.  Braved and beat them on my own yet I’m helpless by the river.  Angel, angel, what have I done?  I’ve faced the quakes, the wind, the fire, I’ve conquered country, crown, and throne, why can’t I cross this river?

15. I Met Up With the King (First Aid Kit)
I feel just like the king as I fall on the muddy ground, I feel just like you gal.  There’s people thinking they know something now, well I don’t know anything at all and we mean nothing to history.  Well thank God.

16. Rocking Horse (The Dead Weather)
I drank some dirty water, shook evil hands.  I’ve done some bad things and they get easier to do.  Then I wrote a nasty letter and I sent it to the Lord, I said don’t you dare come and bother me no more.

17. The Road (Mirel Wagner)
And it’s a hard and a crooked life when you’re a dead man’s unwedded bride.  Down by the road sits a man who’s gray and old, says the hardest thing I know is to see your loved ones go.

18. Your Funeral My Trial (Nick Cave)
I am a crooked man and I’ve walked a crooked mile.  Night, the shameless widow doffed her weeds, in a pile.  The stars all winked at me, they shamed a child.  Your funeral, my trial.

19. Bones & Skin (Mirah)
In the place that’s made of old relations where some got loved, some got hated, how absently you move around, how listless.  How in the night the battle raged under the blankets, were we brave, at least enough to recognize the storm is just a storm.

20.  Boy With a Coin (Iron & Wine)
A boy with a coin he crammed in his jeans then making a wish he tossed in the sea walked to a town that all of us burn when God left the ground to circle the world.

The (Hell) We Live In Now at 8tracks.

–your fangirl heroine.

what the hell ever

Leave a Reply

