Spoiler Alert Saturday :: my thoughts on The Amazing Spider-Man 2

10 May

Things I laughed inappropriately at (sorry, other people in the theater, I was trying to laugh as silently as possible, and I think for the most part I succeeded) in no order:

  1. Dr. Cabaret at the insane asylum.  Or actually Dr. Kafka, but between his facial expressions and the fact that I could swear he was wearing makeup and the fact of his accent he reminded me of the clips I’ve seen from Alan Cumming as the Emcee, and reminded me of this so much that I could not keep it together.
  2. The Electro song that faded in and out of the big fight in Times Square.  I can’t find the actual lyrics online and I don’t want to bother transcribing them myself, but what I caught was hilarious.  At first I was sure that I was hallucinating because it just seemed so odd to have him fighting while the music very obviously proclaimed things like about how someone lied to him and he was gonna destroy them or whatever.
  3. Every time that Electro (Jamie Foxx), or Harry (Dane DeHaan) for that matter, growled.  Or when anyone loudly sustained their shouted word.  Things like that are hilarious to me.
  4. Rhino (Paul Giamatti) getting down on all fours while shooting his gun at the end.
  5. Actually, just a lot of the stuff with the action scenes.
  6. Every appearance of Captain Stacy (Denis Leary) in hallucinated ghost form, looking judgy.  Especially the one where he was there and then Electro burst through him.

Things that were not funny or acceptable at all:

  1. What happened to Gwen (Emma Stone).  And okay, yeah, shush I know it happened in the comics.  I’ve known that for years and years (I heard it on a game show once).  But it… it didn’t need to happen in the film.  For a lot of reasons.  I was recently teaching one of my people about fridging, and I could use this as an example, at least.  Mostly, I’m just going to pretend that she managed to get on that plane to London and then stayed there to do science.  The end.

–your fangirl heroine.

what the royal fuck

Leave a Reply

