Music Monday :: 5 more more artists commonly found in the misandry tag on 8tracks

21 Apr

This one goes out to everyone in any fandom who’s just… disappointed in writerly choices involving female characters.

5.  Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, “Paris (Ooh La La)
Well, I love the hell out of Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, so this song beginning to appear in mixes was a really wonderful and delightful thing for me.  This one isn’t overtly misandric, but it has a nice vibe to it that suits.

4.  Dessa, “The Bullpen
Conversely, I had never heard of Dessa before, and I don’t know any more of her songs, but this one is effective.  “It’s been assumed I’m soft or irrelevant ’cause I refuse to down play my intelligence” and so-on.

3.  Laura Mvula, “That’s Alright
I had also never heard of her, but this is another very good song worth a listen.

2.  Marina and the Diamonds and Charli XCX, “Just Desserts
Here, this:

They always said that I was a mess of a girl
Ever since you stepped your toes
Into my perfect world
You flipped me upside down
But I see clear from here
That you’re a mess of a boy
You’ll cry these tears for years
Look in the mirror baby

1.  Kate Nash, “Rap for Rejection
Oh, look, one of my favorite misandry songs ever.  One of my favorite songs to blast in the car at the end of a crappy day.  Etcetera.

–your fangirl heroine.

queen of sassiness

Leave a Reply

