Spoiler Alert Sunday :: my thoughts on The Grand Budapest Hotel

13 Apr

One of my favorite things about Wes Anderson movies is their vibe, the thing that I’ve never really seen any other director doing but can’t name exactly.  Like they’re a storybook come to life, except for that it’s a storybook about and with and for grown-ups.

Because of this and also because I am very fond of things that read as meta in one way or another, I enjoyed the story-within-a-story-within-a-story of this film.  I think part of it comes from my background in theatre and English, but I like narrated things, where said narrator is even voice-overing the “he said, we sat, I did that” kind of stuff.  It would get tiresome if it was done all the time, but on occasion it adds to that slightly surreal ambiance.

The cast is A+ and really completely predictable (“I don’t think Wes Anderson can make a movie without one of the Wilson brothers,” one of my people commented) and definitely made me think about how it must be fun to be Wes Anderson or someone like that and be able to just call up everyone and be like “come be in my movie for thirty seconds” and have them agree to it.

I enjoy how pretty Wes Anderson movies often are.  How they feature such beautiful settings and such ridiculous situations taking place all over them.  How they can actually pull off wacky chase scenes.  How they exist in a world that both is and is not our own.  How they have a certain measure of kitsch and eccentricity.  How they have exposition thrown about all the time.

Also, I enjoyed Saoirse Ronan’s accent and face.  That was nice.  And semi-surprise momentary Lea Seydoux.

I don’t know that there is actually a whole lot to spoil about this movie, because like many Wes Anderson movies it is more about characters and scenarios than actual plot (which I don’t mind actually, being a very character/ambiance-driven person myself), but I’m still not going to say a terrible lot about it.  If you like this sort of thing, I’d highly recommend it.

–your fangirl heroine.

patient

One Response to “Spoiler Alert Sunday :: my thoughts on The Grand Budapest Hotel”

  1. MistressCinder April 2014 at 5:40 am #

    Wes Anderson is one of my all time favs. I love his movies. So looking forward to seeing this one.

Leave a Reply

