Sundry Sunday :: a continued “I went there for you” 10 list

8 Apr

Same rules as last time.  But there’s more of them this time!

10, 9, 8. Michael Cera… and Kat Dennings… and Jonathan B. Wright

I can’t help it.  Michael Cera is awkward and endearing.  I will follow Kat Dennings anywhere.  And Jonathan B. Wright, well, Spring Awakening groupie here.  (And Aaron Yoo and Rafi Gavron wound up being pretty okay too.)  So Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist was delightful for me and I regret nothing.  And as teenager movies go, it makes me very happy.

7. Anthony Stewart Head

I saw a scene from Repo online (pre-release) right as I was starting Buffy, so when I finally had access to Repo, I couldn’t help myself.  One of these days, I might have to write an essay about how completely terrible I feel for actually enjoying the hell out of this movie.  I’ve seen it at least ten times, which is disgusting; I mean, it’s a ridiculous piece of work.  But I just cannot help myself.  And though this is not solely the fault of Anthony and his singing and glowers and glasses, it is partially the fault of those things, yes.  What of it?

6. Christina Hendricks

Even my goddess hasn’t gotten me to sit down and watch romantic/”female oriented” and painful-looking comedies that she has bit parts in (Life As We Know It, I Don’t Know How She Does It).  Mostly because I find movies like that to be hideously not to my taste and worthy of my ripping apart.  But Christina’s presence was one of the main reasons I saw Drive, other than the buzz; I still don’t know what I think about it, but there’s a picture of her looking pretty in it?

5, 4, 3.  Jason Segal… and Alyson Hannigan… and Neil Patrick Harris

I don’t watch How I Met Your Mother regularly.  I haven’t seen coherent blocks of season such-and-such, and I have no idea what the overlying plot looks like.  But if nothing else is on, or if there’s a half-hour to kill and Netflix instant available to fire up, blowing through a random episode of How I Met Your Mother is something I was persuaded to do.  Because Jason Segal is endearing, and I love Alyson Hannigan’s face, and Neil Patrick Harris is amusing, and I didn’t know anything about Cobie Smulders or Josh Radnor prior to my sporadic HIMYM habit, but they’re cool too.

2, 1. Skylar Astin and Phoebe Strole

So like half of the entries on these lists are Whedonverse or theatre-related.  I own that.  I feel like a lot of this is also guilty pleasure-related, because I absolutely gorram love Hamlet 2.  I saw it just for Skylar and Phoebe here, because I think they’re both talented as hell (and Skylar and I had a moment one time) but I have also seen this movie close to ten times by now.  It’s ridiculous, insane, completely cracked out.  But it takes a certain kind of person to write/be in a movie which utters the words “sexy Jesus,” and I’ll give it that.  And Skylar and Phoebe are adorable even when their characters are sort of terrible people at times.

–your fangirl heroine.

2 Responses to “Sundry Sunday :: a continued “I went there for you” 10 list”

  1. Vontae Harris July 2014 at 11:48 pm #

    That’s not Dev Patel His Name is Rafi Gavron
    (Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist)

    • partlydrawn July 2014 at 12:38 am #

      Thank you for catching my two year old mistake! I can’t even speak to why I made it. /fixed.

Leave a Reply

