Sundry Sunday :: my urban dictionary: fictiongrief

28 Jul

Def.: The terrible and painful feeling one gets when fictional characters they like either suffer greatly to some degree or die.  (Or suffer greatly and then die.)

Usage: A) Because I partake of the Whedonverse and A Song of Ice and Fire, and also I find it easier to feel feelings about fiction oftentimes, I am used to experiencing crushing fictiongrief.  B) The jury is still out on whether it’s better to not know something horrible is coming, and therefore get surprise-smacked in the face with fictiongrief, or to expect and/or predict something horrible is coming, and therefore have time to work oneself into a state of fictiongrief in advance. C) I am deep in the throes of fictiongrief right now.

See also: fictional catatonia (n.),  fictionally sympathetic pulse-racing (n.)

–your fangirl heroine.

it'll be -- well, less crap

2 Responses to “Sundry Sunday :: my urban dictionary: fictiongrief”

  1. MistressCinder July 2013 at 3:37 am #

    I don’t think I will ever get over what happened to Fred on ‘Angel’. Or the Red Wedding… I never want to know a head of time what is going to happen. If I figure it out great, but I try to avoid spoilers. I have not read the George R.R. Martin books. I will read them when Game of Thrones is over.

    • partlydrawn July 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      I am still in s3 of Angel, but I know more or less what happens to Fred and I’m dreading it, because it sounds awful. And yeah, I mean I’ve read all the ASOIAF books now and on one hand I sort of like knowing what’s coming and also having a lot of background info the show just doesn’t have time for, but knowing what was coming didn’t make that particular event easier to watch.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

