Whedon Wednesday :: Buffy characters as My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic characters

20 Jun

Originally I was intending to do the entire Whedonverse as ponyfolk, but once I’d got about four of the women typed Buffy style, I just decided to go with it all the way. So.

As Twilight Sparkle, we have Willow Rosenberg (Alyson Hannigan).  Because she is the extremely bookish one, the not-strictly-sociable one who still loves her friends very much, the one representing the “element of magic.”  Twilight Sparkle didn’t have friends except Spike before moving from Canterlot to Ponyville, when she learned about the importance of friendship and teamwork; Willow didn’t really have a lot of friends except Xander before Buffy moved to Sunnydale, when she learned firsthand about the importance of friendship and teamwork.  I will also note that Twi’s official My Little Pony wiki article states that at one point she does use a memory spell on her friends (I haven’t seen that far yet, but hey).

As Spike, we have Xander Harris (Nicholas Brendon).  He may be named Spike, but he is Xander through and through; he is best friends with our resident bookish one, he is goofy and affable and flirts with a lot of people to very little success.  He isn’t always the most useful in the traditional sense, but he is valuable to the team.  He is a little bit of a derp.

As Applejack, whose name I just realized was written as one word and not two, we have Buffy Summers (Sarah Michelle Gellar).  NO WAIT I SWEAR THIS IS RELEVANT.  I mean, Apple Jack was the one I had the hardest time Buffycasting, actually, since none of the Buffy characters are all twangy and cowgirl and Buffy herself isn’t exactly the “element of honesty” all the time for valid reasons.  (Though look see Buffy owns a cowboy hat go with it.)  But what got me was when AJ got all stubborn and insisted on doing everything by herself, because as teamworky as the Scooby Gang could be, Buffy did do the “it’s my responsibility and mine alone” thing several times.  Also, the sister thing.

As Apple Bloom, we have Dawn Summers (Michelle Trachtenberg).  See, sister thing.  Apple Bloom really does mean well and she has a very good heart, it seems like from the once I’ve been exposed to her.  She just wants to play with the others and not be treated like a kid, and she’s very open to people even if they’re not the obvious choice.  (I.e. with Zecora the zebra, and sort of like Dawn’s unlikely friendship with Spike for a while.)  And yeah, sisters.

As Rarity, we have Cordelia Chase (Charisma Carpenter).  Rarity is the town fashion plate; Cordelia is the town fashion plate.  Rarity is a fan of the spotlight; Cordelia is a fan of the spotlight.  Rarity represents “the element of generosity,” and while that is not true so much of high school Cordy, I’d say what I know of her on Angel shows that she grows into a generosity of spirit.  Rarity sometimes frustrates the others; Cordelia sometimes frustrates the others.  Etcetera.

As Pinkie Pie, we have Harmony Kendall (Mercedes McNab).  Really, Pinkie is just innocently, ridiculously chipper; Harmony is more judgmental and occasionally mean-spirited than Pinkie, as Pinkie is really not mean ever (being the “element of laughter”) but she is also kind of ridiculous.  She’s just a cute girl used to being cute and therefore happy; she’s got her selfish moments, her facepalm-inducing moments, her foolish moments.  But she’s not a terrible person, just like Pinkie isn’t a terrible pony.  Just… sometimes misguided.  Or something.

As Rainbow Dash, we have Faith Lehane (Eliza Dushku).  What this totally isn’t just because Rainbow called her friend Gilda “G” that one time, no, of course not.  And Faith is hardly Rainbow in the sense of being the “element of loyalty,” at least at first; I think in her way, Faith is plenty loyal by the end, but season 3 Faith not so much.  Faith is much more troubled than Rainbow, because ponies do not come from such screwed up backgrounds as people, but she is, a la Rainbow’s page on the wiki, brash, (sometimes) competitive, and (sometimes) mischievous.  I’m pretty sure Rainbow is the only pony I can imagine actually making vaguely dirty jokes like Faith sometimes does; Rainbow is also the pony I see as most likely to kick your ass, which is another thing Faith does.

As Fluttershy, we have Tara Maclay (Amber Benson).  Finally, another girl whose pony analogue element suits her wholly: the “element of kindness.”  Tara is the absolute nicest and the sweetest; she is also (at least at first) quite shy.  She’s good at taking care of people, but she can and does get fierce when it’s required of her, even if she personally doesn’t think of herself as being particularly bold and daring like the others.  And she is just the gosh-darn sweetest and I adore her.  So there.

As Trixie, we have Amy Madison (Elizabeth Anne Allen).  Because Amy is a life ruiner and Trixie is a life ruiner.  Because Amy tries to do magic but is not as good as Willow and Trixie tries to do magic, ish, but is not as good as Twilight Sparkle.  Because magic semiposer reasons.

As Princess Celestia, we have Jenny Calendar (Robia la Morte).  Literally just because she is an adult and because she was a teensy bit Willow’s mentor, ish, with the computer teaching and the inadvertently-being-why-Willow-started-magicks.

As Luna/Night Mare Moon, we have Glory (Clare Kramer).  I believe I mentioned this before, yes.

–your fangirl heroine.

14 Responses to “Whedon Wednesday :: Buffy characters as My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic characters”

  1. sarahpflanagan June 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Reblogged this on Dragon Hunters and commented:
    These comparisons are pretty interesting, even without being a My Little Pony fan, because it breaks down the Buffy characters. I do wonder–is there a My Little Pony for Giles?

  2. Robert Loy June 2012 at 8:04 am #

    Where is Anya?

    • partlydrawn June 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      There are only so many ponies and so far I haven’t met one that suits Anya, but I’m not done with the series, there are ponies yet and maybe one of them will suit her.

  3. Jess June 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Maybe Giles as Big Macintosh? Just to include him, and hey, he’s kinda mentor-y to Applejack!

    • partlydrawn June 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      I haven’t really met Big Macintosh yet, but I’ll keep that in mind.

  4. kluu June 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Applejack also has blond hair and green eyes.

  5. nerdatlas June 2012 at 8:26 am #

    I dunno if Big Mac is the best fit for Giles… I don’t think there’s anypony that fits him quite yet.

    I really liked this article – you’re dead on about Willow/Sparkle, Tara/Fluttershy & Xander/Spike!

  6. Elnauriel August 2012 at 9:35 am #

    This is really neat! I totally agree with Willow/Twilight Sparkle, Tara/Fluttershy & Xander/Spike. Even Faith/Rainbow Dash works pretty well.

    Here’s a few more suggestions…

    Giles/Princess Celestia (mentor, wise, older)
    Glory/Queen Chrysalis (evil, dual identities that no one can figure out)
    Angel/Princess Luna (older, powerful, occasionally evil and occasionally good)
    First Evil/Discord (patient, manipulative, ancient)

    I’m not happy with the Buffy/Applejack pairing, but nothing else comes as close, unfortunately.

    • RuppertFan August 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      Giles as Star Swirl the Bearded or Princess Celestia

      • Elnauriel August 2012 at 3:15 pm #

        I think Star Swirl the Bearded is more of a ancient role-model/mentor for Twilight, sort of like Sineya, the first slayer, for Buffy. The respective characters never physically interacted with their mentors, who passed on advice through the ages. I think Giles definitely works better with Princess Celestia, considering her presence and role in Twilight’s life.

  7. Sara February 2013 at 10:04 am #

    If anything Luna should be Anya. Glory was just an ever God and then she was dead. Luna was a normal pony, then turned evil (as nightmare moon) and now she’s good again. Same as Anya: human, demon, human again, helping the scooby gang =) And I agree that Celstia is totally Giles.. all Big Mac says is “eeyupp” (except in “Ponyville Condfitential where Applejack says “eeyup” and Big Mac totally goes off on applebloom =P)… and giles LOVES to talk! I kinda like Willow as twilight (just cos the books and the magic) but I always thought of her as the main character who didn’t have any friends and then realized that even though she had been magically chosen, she needed her friends to really succeed in her endeavors (same as buffy (the only slayer with friends)), so I would almost cast her as Buffy, but either way works… also I like that Spike is Zander and he loves Rairty (Cordy) =)) But (and no offense, just a suggestion), maybe you should better acquaint yourself with the material, before you decide to do something like this (it seems like you have fairy adept knowledge in Buffy, but you keep mentioning that you haven’t watched much (I’m guessing more than 2 or 3 episodes) of MLPFIM (I mean, you never evenhave seen Big Mac…), not trying to be mean, just sayin.– it’s on the hub allllll the time and also online free at youtube.com (pretty much every episode if you search “my little pony’s friendship is magic, season 1 episode 1″ and then just keep chaning the episode number , so you can watch them in order =)) Happy viewing and I really do like your ideas, I would love to see them develop as you watch more pony episodes! =)

  8. Sara February 2013 at 10:11 am #

    Oh and one more thing– I also wanna commend you cos I have a Buffy feel every time I watch MLP, but for some reason you are the only person who seems to have done anything to link the two- so bravo! (I think Buffy learned that “friendship is magic”, too (thinking mostly of season 4 closing down the Iniciative using Giles, Willow, and Xander and magical heart, hand, and mind… ) =)

  9. Josie August 2014 at 4:02 am #

    Who is Giles as a pony!?!?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Geek Confessions #15 – 06/22/2012 | My Geek Confessions - June 2012

    [...] Cori’s link to Buffy characters and their My Little Pony equivalent. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

